Everything About PCV Licence in UK

Everything About PCV Licence in UK

The licence criteria for passenger carrying vehicles, or PCVs, are largely the same as those for cargo vehicles. There are two PCV licence categories: For minibuses with nine to sixteen seats, use category D1. Coaches and buses with more than 16 seats fall under category D.

A Brief About PCV Licence Categories

There are four categories of PCV licence that are well-explained below.

Category D1:- Minibuses with up to 16 seats, no longer than 8 metres in length, and trailers weighing up to 750 kg are permitted.

Category D1+E:- This lets you haul bigger trailers while still allowing you to accomplish the same tasks as a D1 above. It is important to note that the trailer cannot weigh more than the car being towed, and the total weight of the vehicle plus trailer cannot exceed 12 tonnes.

Category D:- Bus and coach drivers operating with more than sixteen passengers and trailers weighing up to 750 kg are required to hold a category D licence.

Category D+E:- The most sophisticated and final Cat D licence you can get is this one. It allows you to tow a caravan weighing more than 750 kg and operate a bus or coach carrying more than 16 passengers. 

Some Essential Rules to get PCV Licence

Still in a dilemma, how to get a PCV licence? Don’t be now because here are some of the important credentials that you have to fulfil before going to get the PCV licence.

  • The driver has a minimum age of 21.
  • The driver has had a driver's licence for a minimum of two years.
  • The driver is only provided with coverage for out-of-pocket expenses (no remuneration permitted) while running the minibus voluntarily.
  • The maximum allowed mass of the vehicle is 3500 kg, or 4250 kg if it is equipped with a passenger lift to accommodate the transportation of individuals with disabilities.
  • A noncommercial operator is using the minibus for social and noncommercial reasons.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is PCV in the UK?

A PCV D licence enables you to operate a vehicle with more than 16 seats for passengers. To obtain your licence, you must meet stricter medical requirements, apply to the DVLA for the provisional right to drive a PCV D vehicle, and pass the PCV driving exam.

How do I get a PCV licence in London?

After receiving your Category B licence, you must next apply to the DVSA to add provisional entitlements to your licence so that you can learn to drive passenger carrying vehicles (PCVs), unless you have already completed a medical test for an LGV licence.

How will you get a Bus Licence in the UK?

  • To operate a bus, coach, or heavy goods vehicle (HGV), you must: 
  • Possess a valid driver's licence.
  • Be older than eighteen, though some exceptions exist.
  • Obtain the Driver Certificate of Professional Competence (CPC), a professional driving credential.

What are the tips for bus driving in the UK?

Always keep an eye out for any potential hazards by scanning the road as far ahead as you can. To prevent abrupt braking, keep a safe distance from the car in front of you. When operating a vehicle, exercise caution and keep in mind that emergency manoeuvres are more difficult to perform on a bus or coach and should be avoided.

What do LGV and PCV stand for?

LGV stands for Large Goods Vehicle. On the other hand, PCV stands for Passenger Carrying Vehicles.

Is CPC and PCV the Same?

No, CPC and PCV are not the same. Make sure to obtain a CPC card first before driving a Passenger Carrying Vehicle (PCV).