The Overall Process to Complete the HGV Driver Training

The Overall Process to Complete the HGV Driver Training

The purpose of training for large goods vehicles, sometimes referred to as heavy goods vehicles, is to equip drivers with the skills and confidence needed to operate these larger trucks.

For heavy goods vehicles, there are two different types of HGV training courses categories: C and C+E. Each category permits the driver to operate a distinct class of vehicle. However, the procedure required to earn your C+E licence has been altered due to recent DVSA regulations that were implemented on November 15, 2021.

Historically, the strict category C HGV 2 lorry driver training has been the sequential process that drivers go through to obtain their artic category C+E HGV 1 licence, after which they should ideally have a 7.5-tonne licence or a car.

To choose your training path and associated fees, you must first comprehend the various forms of training and their respective foci.

All the Essential Requirements for the HGV Training 

  • Your age should be eighteen years old.
  • Assuming you currently possess a Class B driver's licence.
  • If you do not currently possess a vehicle (Category B) driver's licence, you will not be allowed to start your LGV training.
  • You can proceed after obtaining a complete UK Category B driver's licence at the age of eighteen. 

The Steps you have to Pass to get HGV Driver Licence

There are a total of four steps that you have to clear or pass to get the HGV driving licence.

Medical Test

Getting your provisional HGV licence and finishing your driver's medical are the initial steps toward getting your licence.

Hazard Perception & Theory Test

You will have obtained your provisional licence and passed your driver's medical examination in order to reach this stage. It is now necessary for you to schedule your Hazard Perception and Theory LGV exams. You can do so at the location where you decide to complete your HGV driver education.

Practical Test

It is now time to begin your practical LGV driver training after passing your theory exams. It is totally up to the centre you join to get your HGV licence that how they conduct your practical test. Make sure that you have to give your best attempt.

CPC Training

Every five years, a driver seeking to operate a truck weighing more than 3.5 tonnes for hire and reward or on a commercial basis must finish 35 hours of periodic CPC training.

Individuals who are new to the driving industry and do not currently possess a Category C licence must finish their Initial CPC training, which includes their MOD 2 and MOD 4 courses and exams. After that, every five years, you will need to finish 35 hours of periodic training.

Understand the HGV Driver Training

In the UK logistics sector, the term "HGV," which stands for "Heavy Goods Vehicle," is usually used to refer to truck driving. Driver education for vehicles with a gross combined mass exceeding 3500 kg is known as HGV training.

Moreover, there is no distinction between HGV and LGV training—LGV stands for Large Goods Vehicles. Anybody who wishes to operate a vehicle weighing between 3,500 and 12,000 kg must have an HGV licence.

You must finish HGV driver training if you intend to operate a vehicle that fits into one of these weight categories. HGV Class 1 and Class 2 licences are the two different categories of HGV licences.